A public meeting was held in May 1966 and it was decided that a Tennis Club should be formed in Park Orchards. An interim committee (members of which were Allison Moorhouse, Ian Capp, Fred Smith, Akos Talan and Tony Woodward) was appointed. Members of this committee visited every home in Park Orchards to find out the level of interest, investigated the availability of land and finance and drew up the proposed constitution.

The club was formed in July 1966 with Tony Woodward as President and four courts were opened in August 1967 by Harry Hopman, then President of the L.T.A.V. The clubhouse was built in 1972 and was officially opened by the Hon. Brian Dixon, Minister for Youth, Sport and Recreation in September 1973. In 1989, two more courts were laid down and opened by Cr. Peter Mulcahy, Mayor of Doncaster and Templestowe, in December of that year. The three lemon scented gums between the Clubhouse and the courts, were planted to commemorate each of these occasions.

The Club complex, which is on council property, has been developed by members in co-operation with the City of Doncaster and Templestowe. The Club became incorporated in 1988.